What It Means to be a Growth Seeker

Samir Jaber
5 min readMay 4, 2022

Based on the self-assessment test PrinciplesYou by Ray Dalio and Adam Grant, my main archetype is Growth Seeker. And I’d like to tell you a little bit about it.

Photo by Joseph Rosales on Unsplash

What is an archetype, and where does this designation come from?

One thing I like to explore every now and then is personality tests. Although they are no exact science, I enjoy the insights they provide when it comes to defining certain aspects of one’s personality.

And they’re quite fun, to be honest.

I have experimented with several personality tests over the past couple of years, especially the ones based on the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI). While the results of all those tests had some similar insights about my personality, the most recent one I tried was PrinciplesYou.

…and I was hooked.

PrinciplesYou is a self-assessment test created by psychology professor and author Adam Grant together with the renowned investor and entrepreneur Ray Dalio.

After Dalio became interested in self-assessment to find ways to improve his employees’ skills, he claimed to be dissatisfied with the existing tools. So, he set out to create a new all-inclusive assessment that was “going to be able to bring it together, and just give the total…

--

--

Samir Jaber

I write about writing. I write about science. Featured writer and former scientific researcher | My website: https://samirjaber.com